Snax sings another Styx song. Babe (This time with music)

Rate this topic

Here's my latest effort. This was recorded using my new Bluebird studio condenser mic in Logic Pro 8 on my Macbook. Please let me know if there's anything at all I could have done better either vocally or production wise. I'm still learning!

https://files.me.com/muskysnax/c62r3e.mp3

I've spent an hour or so dancing to this song with my 3month old baby girl - we had the time of our life.

I listened to it without thinking it's Mike from the mvf. What I heard was a singer who's voice has a "saxophone" or "velvet" like

quality and I'm pretty sure your condenser mic brought that aspect of your voice forward. It reminded me A LOT

of Geoff Tate, albeit in a more rock or twanged version. Ever tried "Silent Lucidity" by queensryche ?

I liked how you processed the vocals and I'd like to ask you how much gain reduction you had on your meters, the ratio

and if you compressed the peaks only. It sounds really beautiful, not squashed at all but without any annoying dynamics,

just what's needed.

At the last verse you introduce a bit of gruff - not sure if it was intentional or not but it compliments your sound nicely.

You shine in this type of songs - if I ever manage to sing a similar type of song, I'll be convinced I can sing.

Don't stop posting Mike!

Thanos

Your post was so touching Thanos! I'm honoured to have been the background music for a Father-Daughter moment like that!

As for the vocal track processing I used two different compressor plugins at the same time. The first stage is set with a 2:1 ratio and a lower threshold than the second. It is set to gently even out the overall track volume.

The second plugin is set with a 4.2:1 ratio and is set to tame just the peaks and has a higher threshold setting. I also have a limiter on that plugin as a safety net although it shouldn't have activated during a song like Babe.