Elton John Cover - Seeking Constructive Criticism

• TMV World Legacy Member

Hi. I've been playing and singing for several years now, and as always, I am looking to broaden my horizon as an artist, and seek the help of others who are more experienced than myself. Please give my video a watch, and let me know what you think. It is up on my homepage.

http://www.youtube.com/user/Orendrol

"There is no bad music, only bad listeners."

Well done on the Sir Elton John cover. Sorry, I can't resist the title. He never refers to himself by his title but for what he has done for music and charity, he deserves some kind of honor. And you did an excellent cover. I think, if he were to hear it, he would say, "Yeah, the lad gets it" in that slight cockney accent of his.

"I'm no superman" equally well done. I've heard the original and I know most people don't realize that a show themesong usually comes from an whole song. And I think you did this one well. And, one of my favorite episodes is the one with Colin Hayes as a patient sneaking around the hospital playing "Overkill" until Dr. Cox breaks his guitar. "I have other songs," says Hayes. "I'm sure you do," Dr. Cox, resident a-hole.

Your voice sounds like mine when I was in my early 20's, though you have a tighter vibrato than I did back then. You would most likely get advice, if any, from Steven. Primarily because you are singing in baritone in these two songs and Steven is a classical baritone, though a number of others here classify themselves as classically baritone but, in the rock genre, get up to C5 or higher or, to make it easier for a pianist like you, maybe a two octave range above middle C.

A large number of pop and rock songs have the main lyrics and certainly the chorus around the 4th octave, which is in tenor, and often near the normal male passagio. And so a lot of work is in dealing with the passagio. And we've been having another discussion on that just recently.