Vowels and their effect

Rate this topic

Elrathion

Hey

I'm currently doing alot of reading/research about the use of vowels in singing.

I was wondering if anyone knew a study that starts from really basic and understandable and builds up to quite deep stuff (so basicly I'm looking for a work that is scientific but written in a way that a novice as myself can still comprehend it :P)

Greetings Elrathion;

I'm new at this TMV thing still trying to figure out the system. I have submitted one blog that was an expansion on Steven Fraser's description of formants. My blog is entitled "Life without passion is just another job" or at least tht's the title it wound up with. Check that out if you will, it may be a beginning of a reasonable explanation. Or, at least we get something started. Amongst other things, I try to make muddy things clear --- and often succeed. Give it a try. Raymond C. Miller ......musiker

Hi Elrathion

Vowels are what humans communicated with before we could talk! You can learn much in conventional technique and you can learn a lot more in sound healing technique. I have a blog on Mastering tones which is about vowels, my whole course teaches around vowels and you can go to www.healingsounds.com to learn more about toning. Vowel sounds are the essence of our being and our voice. All teachers on TMV will cover vowels...you need to be a bit more specific or more open! love Hilary :cool:

It's effect on the vocal tract, it's relationship with frequency, etc...

Elrathion: According to current vocal theory (first proposed by Fant in 1960,) Vowels and the vocal tract are directly related, and the relationship is causal. The shape of the vocal tract (in its various sections) has a direct effect on the vocal resonance aspects that we interpret as vowels.