My Cover "Lately - Stevie Wonder" (beginner)

• TMV World Legacy Member

Hi, I've been lurking on this forum for a while and now decided to post ! So I've been practicing by myself singing by myself for a couple of months, and this is my cover of Lately:

http://soundcloud.com/siegeddd/lately-cover-9-22-2012

Please feel free to critique as harshly as you would like, since I would desperately like to know what I really need to focus on.

Some things that I've noticed for myself:

- Diction/Pronunciation needs work, feel like I "swallow" a lot of my vowels and my words are not crisp

- Stamina

- Need more support , a lot of times, notes sound breathy and pushed, and some words feel like they have more support than others

- Tonality could use a bit of work, but this was done w.o backing track

My Goals ( way long term dreaming hehe):

-I would like to sing with a strong supported crisp voice on every word/note ( get a voice like clay aiken)

- Be Comfortable singing higher range in song ( A4 and higher possibly), currently I can hit G4 comfortably in exercises with certain vowels, but very inconsistently in song

- Most importantly, be able to perform with confidence

Another question of mine is, is training voice more similar to training a muscle where overtraining may actually be counterproductive, or practicing an instrument where progress is mostly directly proportional to the amount of practice time.

Please give me your advice and criticism~ Thanks!

On a side note, I have a bit of funds for lessons,etc.. I was planning to purchase Pillars ( cant afford skype lessons). Those who have used it what do you think of it? Or should I use that money and find a local vocal coach. The benefits of that it would help target what I really need work on, but I'm afraid they would just assign me basic exercises that I have already been practicing, and also the travel time is about 1 hr ( there and back).

• TMV World Legacy Member