Question regarding how to actually sing.

• TMV World Legacy Member

Ok, so first off I know I suck I've had zero pitch recognition my whole life and it's a wonder I can play any instruments at all. But I've been songwriting and trying to do my own vocals for two years. When I started, all I could do was talk into a mic, now I can kinda sing but after any significant time period I painfully lose my voice, and I can barely speak for days. I sing loud but I know I don't use my diaphram and I sing from my throat. This is what I'm going for, seamless blending of distorted and clean vocals:

This is what I sound like now:

https://harderfordischarge.bandcamp.com/track/whats-your-name-this-time-demo-2

https://harderfordischarge.bandcamp.com/track/my-philosophy-demo

So I guess my question is what should it feel like when I sing properly? I understand what I'm doing wrong but I just can't apply it.

And also, if you come to the conclusion from those demo's that it sounds like I am singing right but just suck, please tell me so I can stop trying haha.

Remember this always, and forever, make the sign of the cross upon yourself. The note lives just behind the nose.

Anyway, this is some sweet and tasty punk. I remember when the Sex Pistols got banned from the BBC because they sang the song "God Save the Queen ('cause she ain't no human being.)" This is fresh, like that.

Also, check out Melissa Cross and her instruction on how to scream. I am not into screamo for myself.

But, believe it or not, I wrote a punk song. And it is not ready for prime time and not because of curse words but because of subject matter. I am master of the sacred and the profane. A 70's hard rocker with an appreciation of several genres.