Summer of 69 (Demo)

Rate this topic

I am no pro, so take my input with a grain of salt ;)

Very nice performance Flip! A bit weak or Shivering, but you got a nice tone, and right on pitch. (Except the shiverring, or unwanted vibrato).

Keep it up! :)

You've got a nice, even tone of voice and I like how you sound on this song. If I could point out one thing and I used to do it, myself, a lot. You are "crashing" notes. Fellow member Jonpall pointed this out to me one time and it was immensely helpful. "Crashing" notes is that deflection downward in pitch and volume at the end of a word or phrase.

I spent two weeks, powerless to stop myself from noticing that I did it in both singing and speaking. So, I fixed it with imagining that the note continues after I stop singing it. As in, hold the final note in your mind, even after you quit making a sound.

That being said, there are songs where crashing is done purposefully for an effect. Such as what Bob Seeger does with "Turn the Page."

I don't know if that was your intent here and I admit I was comparing to the phrasing of the original, which may not be a valid place to view from.

Again, Jonpall's comment caused me to notice it in myself.

Thank you for your feedback Ron, I'm not sure as I tend to sing certain songs differently without really noticing...I have more songs posted on the main "social media" portion of this site...see if you see the same phenomena...

Ron

you gave me the same advice on crashing notes in one of my early posts here. It was very helpful and I worked to eliminate it, or at least get it under control. Thanks.

George

And as I pointed out before, Jonpall caught me on that. So, really, we should blame him for cleaning up our phrasing. It's all your fault, Jonpall. See what you have started?

So, I found your media page. And no, you don't crash all of your notes. So, you must have been doing it for stylish effect.