Donny Hathaway Cover "I Love you More than You'll ever Know"

• TMV World Legacy Member

http://vocaroo.com/i/s1eadm7oISEC

Trying to:

-Practice runs--I normally shy away from them altogether

-Practice using range- I'm have it, but I shy away from using it cause I'm not technically apt (self-taught/no lessons)

-Use grit--for some reason, I have a hard time getting a 'grit' in my voice

-Practice modulations

The song has a modulation in it on the bridge. I don't think it's a key change, but I couldn't find an instrumental. I kind of shy away from it and talk it out because it's hard to follow without music.

--Figure out if I'm a tenor or baritone

I know people say it doesn't matter, but I want to get lessons someday (my voice has finally settled/isn't changing/I smoke infrequently)

Help? Thankx. This is a 1 take cover with a laptop mic; it's a rough draft. I think it's "OK" but I need help in certain places I'm sure.

Were you singing to some backing that we can't hear?

Your range sound Baritone to me, if you think that matters.

Quite nice to listen to. There is some falling back into talking (not singing) in the lower part of your range, like a bluesy Rex Harrison. In the higher notes you dont have the vibrato that you have in the middle of your range, this maybe implies some tension or breathing changes needed. I am working on the same thing, I am few weeks in. Seeing a vocal coach in person has helped me a lot.

You don't need to wait for your voice to "settle down" before getting lessons.

George can often be found playing electric stringy things, and singing... [url=https://soundcloud.com/george-williams-8]and then this happens[/url]

Were you singing to some backing that we can't hear?

Your range sound Baritone to me, if you think that matters.