Taking the leap of faith! :p

• TMV World Legacy Member

Hi! So, I'm a newbie vocalist that has so far only sang along with one other friend and a bottle of whiskey, as explained in my introduction topic. I figured the best way to check if there's hope for me is to join a forum and ask people (that aren't my best friends). Believe it or not, I'm fairly nervous about this, as I didn't realise just how bad I sound until I actually recorded myself and listened to that.

I also assume someone would want to slap me for the songs I chose to record, but I did them as those are some of the "regular" songs that mentioned friend and I do when we get drunk. :D

Ok, here goes:

These are Run to the Hills by Iron Maiden and I Believe in a Thing Called Love by The Darkness, and I succesfully butchered both, acompanied by blurred lyrics, cat noises, being off-rhythm and bad imitation of Dickinson's vibrato (all recorded on a 10 dollar mic, just for you).

So be frank and feel free to annihilate me, I need objective opinions! :) And thanks in advance!

You did better on the Darkness song, though the main verses are a bit low.

Run to the Hills was not your strong suit. The song requires a stronger delivery or intensity of emotion. But your pitch is good, which is the largest chunk of the work to be done.

If you got some lessons or spent some time studying the voice, you might be able to iron out that elusive middle. Of course, that means giving it some dedication instead of bragging about your drinking.

It may come as a surprise, but most of the singers here are not impressed by how well you do drunk. They will applaud how well you do, period.

From an aesthetic standpoint, you seem bored by what you are doing. Can you find some interest in singing?