My first song sample

• TMV World Legacy Member

Hi,

Ok, I'm taking the plunge. As I've said in my intro, I'm new to this and have no equipment, recording programs, sound system backing tracks....nothing. All I have is a video camera. So I stood in my living room and chose a song fairly easy to sing without music. "Wish You Were Here" by Pink Floyd. I was going to wait to post something but I figured what the hell. The best way is to go at it head on! No warmups no rehearsing no multiple takes, just me in the raw. (ok ladies...calm down, that's not what I meant :D). I've sung this song (to myself) a lot over the years and was always hesitant to sing it in public because it is sort of a monotone song in my opinion. Unless the arrangement is changed, it is a little boring to me. But I like it and like to sing it anyway.

Maybe I'll post something else soon.

Here goes. Remember I have no lessons and no real knowledge other than what I hear and try to learn on my own. I have only sang in front of anyone about 3 times in my life. I know this song doesn't show much. but...

Be gentle

http://youtu.be/QJaSs8nSeqk

That's a neat Colin Hayes - like vibrato. You got lost in the melody once or twice. By that, I mean, it was fine to sing around a central pitch. Then you modulated while in the chorus and centered around that note rather than return to the tonic in the verses. That is, your pitch control was great. You just changed where the song centered. And I could see where you might think it was monotone because you think the song always returns to a center pitch.

A danger of doing a capella. And not bad for a song you don't do that often.

Very, very nice. Well projected, relaxed and pleasant to hear. You have a very interesting tone and even the basics of forward focus going. The technical problems show in the higher parts but it is absolutely normal and yet you show great awareness to not try to force it.