Livelounge Style Covers

• TMV World Legacy Member

I was digging it. You're obviously a very good singer. Great job! I suggest that you don't change a thing. What did YOU think about your singing there? Often singers have a very skewed view of themselves.

Polly - those are awsome performances - I love the way you sound. Fantastic singing. Can you tell us about how you progressed as a singer? Lessons? How much you practice? I think it would be interesting to hear what you did to reach your level.

Wow guys, thanks for the lovely comments.

Guitartrek, I've been singing properly (as opposed to just belting Aretha songs in the shower

!) for around 8 years. I studied vocals for a year at college, where I picked up some of the more technical aspects such as breathing and control, but I have gigged regularly in live bands for the last 5 years and I think this is where I've really got to know my voice and how it works.

To me, the most important thing about singing is knowing your own voice. I think a lot of singers focus on trying to emulate their favourite vocalists, but finding your own voice and exploring as getting to know it's capabilities is so much more rewarding both for he singer and the listener!

Thanks again for the feedback guys, feel free to visit back to the soundcloud page - Im trying to keep it updated regularly :)

Peace.x

Polly - thanks for your bio on singing. Yes - you can't beat "on the job" training. You don't need to change a thing. Do you have any desire to develop other vocal techniques like adding some distortion or a little harder edged rock tone? Is there something here on this forum you'd like to bounce off of all of us?

I liked them all but especially "Jenny, Don't be Hasty." I could totally see you doing a mix of reggae, r & b, ska, calypso. And before anyone says, "Ron, what do you mean calypso? That's a special market."