Please judge my vocal performance

• TMV World Legacy Member

I'm a songwriter and a novice producer. Often, when I record a song, I don't have a good singer available. In such cases I then do it myself, even though I can't sing. It then sounds like in this example. This is a song called "Why" that I wrote to go with lyrics I found in a forum. What do you think about my vocals? Are they good enough for simple demos or are they so bad that they have a negative impact on the demo?

All the best

Robert

I think you might need to clarify, Witti.

Is your desire to sing better? Or, to have a good demo that you can promote, regardless of who is singing?

Multiple award-winning songwriter James Blume can barely hum a note. He can plunk just a few notes on a piano, can't play guitar well enough to save his life. But he can write songs. He keeps a digital recorder with him and hums bits of tunes, speaks bits of lyrics.

Later, he gets with a guy that can play any instrument there is and comes up with an arrangement and transcribes the melody idea therein. Then, they hire a studio singer to sing the demo. And that gets promoted to the various labels and also gets listed with songwriter orgs.

See what I mean? Hit songs written by a guy who finds singing "Happy Birthday" a challenge and can't play an instrument can write a song.

If, on the other hand, you want to sing better, that's another direction entirely. Depends on how much time you have. Blume never made the time for singing lessons. He spent his time writing songs and making money.

Good luck and lots of success for you, whatever you do.

I think you might need to clarify, Witti.

Is your desire to sing better? Or, to have a good demo that you can promote, regardless of who is singing?