video of me practicing Let's Get It On by Marvin Gaye (voice & piano!)

• TMV World Legacy Member

2nd day in learning the song... my first time trying to sing anything in the soul genre here, and I am a big Marvin Gaye fan.

This is my first time singing an actual song with a Bb4 and Eb5... never done that before this week, so this is kind of an experiment into seeing what it feels like to get up there in actual songs vs when working on thinner coordinations and other misc. vocalises.

Once in a while, I feel the first verse will fall into a certain pocket that is quite comfortable. I feel like that's when I tap into the Edge mode in CVT terms.. in other terms, just fully tilted twanged sound. I'm not sure if it happens much in this video, but somehow the notes still happened. Experimenting with mouth opening width and size and bite seem to make a difference along with trying to make sure my jaw doesn't jut out too far forward.

When I lose a little support is when I really feel the notes get more difficult, hence the moving around in a Ray Charles impersonation lol... it helps me make sure my lower back and rest of my core are involved in supporting some.

I love the way Marvin Gaye sings the word "baby" for some reason. No wonder he got all the ladies... I have spent weeks trying to figure out how to get the compression and support close to how he sings it haha... did I get close?

How is it to y'all so far? What should I keep working on, and any tips to help me find/stay in that pocket up there? :)

UPDATE! Please provide feedback for my NEWEST Kodaline High Hopes Practice Cover - http://themodernvocalist.punbb-hosting.com/viewtopic.php?id=10062

My Soundcloud- http://soundcloud.com/bchen929 -
A continuous work in progress, always improving.

I think you got pretty close to Marvin Gaye's sound especially on those opening lines.

Your low range sounds a bit nasal to me, and somewhat different than your higher notes. Like you're using 2 different voices.