Through the Glass Stone Sour - Total Newbie here looking for advice

• TMV World Legacy Member

So I recorded myself for the first time ever singing a verse to Stone Sour Through The Glass.

Looking for some critique and advice on how I can improve, or alternatively some tough loving and told, give up and stick to playing bass!! haha

Anyway, here is the link. I look forward to hearing what you have to say and hopefully learning!

PS. was trying to concentrate on keeping my larynx low, so at the start I sound a wee bit dopy!

Sounds very good to me! Keep it up and good luck!

Maybe over time you could make your inhale less audible, but this is just nitpicking (and if it sounds cool to you then keep it!).

I heard breath-takes, too. But it was not a detriment, to me. For all of us, we have only heard the radio version. Which comes from a professionally produced cd. I know this hurts some feelings, so I will mention it again because I am as stubborn as a mule and made the mistake of reading about recording from professionals who literally get their paycheck from mixing albums that sell well. The pro recording is auto-tuned. There, I said it, go ahead, everyone, get your feelings hurt. And then, the final recording is mastered to cd and all the levels are brought from the initial master recording.

Juxtapose that to James' recording. Excellent pitch without any autotune. Noises in recording included. I absolutely guarantee that if you heard the actual dry vocal track from the original singer, you would hear the same thing.

So, now, someone can come along and say, what about the vids on youtube that say vocal only?

Are you serious? You actually believe that is that unaltered single vocal track from the master files, that is owned by the record company or the artist? Really? Well, if that's the case, I've got some ocean-front property just outside of Scottsdale, Arizona that I would like to sell you.