Stairway to Heaven

• TMV World Legacy Member

I have been playing this song for 36 years. But I have been able to sing it in the proper range for only about 22 years. That being said, I still learn things about it. I end it on a higher note which is more comfortable for me than trying to manage a 1/2 tone with rasp. Plus, I'm not trying to sound like Robert Plant. I'm trying to sound like Ron.

When I was a teenager and playing guitar, the surest way to gain the affections of young ladies was being able to play this song. They always asked, "Can you play "Stairway to Heaven"?"

"Stairway to Heaven" from Led Zeppelin.

One of your better ones, Ron, actually! :) Both the vocal and the guitar playing. I still think your next step would be to get some lessons.

Thanks, jonpall. Lessons for which? Guitar? Singing? Both? I can explain the problems with the guitar, it being a cheapie with an tall action. What part of the singing was wrong? I can't do much about the mic, right now. It distorts and flattens at anything above a conversational volume, so you may not be able to accurately hear what you may think is wrong with my singing. But I am always learning.

As for the guitar, I am so used to playing and singing this at the same time that I still miss cues on playback that I wouldn't while playing live. And it seems I run into this on any song I have played for a while.

And I miscalculated. I have only played this song for 31 years, not 36.

Or do I need lessons in recording?

I was wondering if you could be a little more specific.