Chandelier - Sia Cover - Do the high notes sound strained?

• TMV World Legacy Member

This is just a rough cover. Just wanting some constructive feedback about the higher notes... do they sound strained? Is there anything it sounds like I should be doing that I'm not? Any feedback is welcome. Thanks in advance! 

Wow at first I thought it was Sia singing. Sounds great :) The only thing I hear that sounds like you are having trouble with is "I'm" and "fly". I'm not experienced enough to help you there but I'm sure some here can. Regardless beautiful voice!

You have a gorgeous voice dear! really really pretty. It didn't sound strained to me..did it feel strained? You have a really pretty, strong mix voice, and a lovely vibrato in your head voice. A couple things I noticed is that you were kinda off in the timing at the beginning....just when you said  "im the one for a good time call" but it straightened itself out quickly and worked. Another thing I noticed was this odd little squeak  you did at the beginning of some of your big notes... kinda like a flipping up into your mix register. I'm sure there is a name for it...But i don't know what it's called. I'm not sure if it's a stylistic, purposeful thing? Or something that should be worked on. It didn't sound bad necessarily. Just a little curious about it. :) anyways. overall. you are a fantastic singer!

Normally not my kind of songs but you got a lot of emotion in there. That was pretty good!

Good job with the wovel choice on the higher parts. You can still gain more freedom on these notes though.

What mic did you use, just curious? Your voice was really colourful, even on the quiet parts

Thanks for the feedback everyone! 

h4azel3yes - the squeak was intentional, maybe trying to sound more like the original but now I listen back it does sound kind of odd. Might need to tone it back a bit. Thanks for your kind words! :)

Quentin - I used a blue yeti pro! Thanks :)