Am I making progress? (4 new songs)

• TMV World Legacy Member

Hi! Been awhile... So the last time I posted I was doing more dream theater rock-type things that pushed the height of my voice, not so good...

Well I've been sticking with lessons for maybe 3 months now, and I just wanted to get some feedback on what you think maybe I should work on with my teacher for technique. Also, do I typically have pitch problems? Because my teacher says I don't but I think I do. Maybe it's just the whole 'not sounding like those singers' thing still getting to me.

Also around Christmas I had bronchitis and it killed my throat to even talk. But I got my voice back and only have a slight cough now very rarely.

So I eased it up with this, trying to branch out into things I haven't done before. Songs I feel are less demanding. And I'm trying to sing with my diaphragm, but it still feels like I'm singing from my throat.

Enough talk, on to the songs! Each one I did with one take and very minimal effects. In some I tried to remove the voice of the original but some reverb remained. Still recorded with a rockband usb mic. Held sorta to the side to reduce the pops. That's the way to do it right?

Walking in Memphis (I know Marc Cohn is probably a baritone, but if Scott Grimes can do it, why can't I?? ....I'm pretty sure Scott's a tenor...)

Cult Of Personality (Got the Karaoke track off of youtube, and there's some backup vocals on it.)

Drops Of Jupiter (Ugh the end sucks I think I ran out of breath but I wanted to stick to the 1-take policy like it was live....except the Nananas. And I can't mimic his tone...is he raspy??)

Roll With The Changes

So, any progress? Am I ever going to be able to sing better? Thanks

You can drop the false humility stuff. Man up, stand up. Don't expect flowery praise because you came in with "o, I'm so humble."

Sorry, my day was tough, so I am taking it out on others. :D