Fly Me To The Moon - Frank Sinatra

Rate this topic

Hi guys!

So, this is my first time singing "for real."

I've been in college for the past couple months, and while I use to do a lot of music stuff as a preteen, things sort of fell off in high school. In terms of vocal ability, I have very poor technique, but I think the timbre of my voice is kind of nice. Basically, I'd like to know how my voice could improve in terms of pitch, support, my vowel sounds, transitions from note to note etc. I've been actively attempting to sing for the past month or so, and been doing a bit of research and stuff. Of course, people who sing well practice a lot, but I'm wondering if sound okay to "perform" without embarrassing myself on stage in about 9 months~? It would be super cool to join an a ' capella group on campus next year, or maybe just do decent covers on youtube. Part of the reason I'm here is because I can't really hear my voice, and I want critque. 

From my friends/classmates: 

I've noticed that my friends who sing really really well (semi - professionally to professionally) like my voice, but think I don't have any skill or technique and due to the lack of control I sound really bad. 

My other friends say I can like carry a tune, but can't sing. 

Thank you guys for reading all this. 

• Administrator

NoPuedo,

Nice effort... I can tell by listening to your voice that with real training your voice could be beautiful. If you want to get serious about singing, you need to consider training and getting a voice coach. I would be happy to be your coach, but there are many good coaches. I recommend myself or someone on this forum. I just happen to know the people on this forum are all great.

Also, you should practice this tune with a karaoke track... there are pitch issues and rhythm issues... basic musicianship that needs to be addressed here. Much of that would work itself out if you were singing on top of music, not just a cappella.