Dream Theater - Peruvian Skies

• TMV World Legacy Member

Hi, everyone!

This is the first recording I share with you. I'm a full-fledged newbie. I've just been studying proper vocal technique for about a month and a half, but I've been singing for fun for almost two years. I think that, considering that I am just recently learning properly, my voice is... decent. I still have a long way to go, I know. I still cannot control belting the high notes, especially that A4 that has eluded me for years and that B4 (in "telling her secrets won't TAKE them away) that... well, is beyond me right now :( I am a baritone, so I have a hard time switching to the so-called 'mixed voice'. I am working hardly on that.

Please tell me any areas of technique and expression (and production and mixing) that you think I can improve and how I can improve them.

Any word of encouragement is highly appreciated.

Thanks a lot in advance, guys. :)

EDIT: Since everyone told me that my vocals were buried deep under the mix, I mixed the recording once again. Here is the new link for the cover:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jJsAUZTEgFo

Sounds like you are trying too hard, especially if you are going for a LaBrie type registration. I'd back off a little to start. There are some pitchy places, but overall, sounds very good for a beginner. You obviously have some work to do, just like the rest of us lol.

PS I am having a hard time differentiating your voice from James lol - email me for a karaoke track for this song at keith_goehner@yahoo.com.

www.drop-head.com

Thanks a lot for your feedack, Keith.