Faithfully

• TMV World Legacy Member

This is my first attempt at a very light head voice in the passaggio area:

http://soundclick.com/share.cfm?id=12389334

I had what I thought was a "heavier" voice. I thought my voice was simply not suited for a Journey ballad requiring a very light head voice through the passagio. I was determined to put these notions to the test. So I set out to learn this song - back in March. My first attempts at singing this were hideous - tight and constricted. At one point I just about threw in the towel, ready to concede that I wasn't cut out for this. But I was persistent. After a couple months of training to "bridge early" with the Bristow program, I could finally sing this song. I've essentially "re-tooled" my voice in the last couple months and I am very glad I did.

I'm still working on this song - not everything is perfect, but it is coming together.

Let me know what you think?

Geno

:) People like Chris and Felipe who really know what they are doing may be able to point things out that you can work on. But all I can say is that was pretty awesome. Yes, it sounded tight in some areas but knowing that you had difficulties when starting to work on this and it was only a few months I think you sounded great.

Your voice fits this song ( at least the way you were singing here) and you did not sound like you were struggling with anything.

Keep up the good work. You can add this to the personal gains thread in the technique section.

"You need a strong foundation to reach the heights."

Chris - Thank you for your great comments. I've been a proponent of letting the larynx go where it wants to go. I didn't want the "pushed down" operatic tone. However, yesterday I experimented with not letting it go "up" when singing high. I got more resonant space. I know do have to let it go up somewhat when going higher, but maybe I was letting it go too high.

Mdew - thanks for listening and your nice comments.