Kamelot - Sacrimony Cover

Rate this topic

This is my first attempt at singing a cover song in a long time - anyway, this is where I am at. This is after a 1.5 hour workout. 15 minutes lip bubbles for warm up. I took a shot at the female vocals at the last chorus (lol). I know it isnt great, please slam the crap out of it as this was the best I could do. (No excuses George)

http://www.soundclick.com/player/single_player.cfm?songid=12032564&q=hi&newref=1

I wouldn't call that crap Keith. I thought it was good. Even the female part :D I know you have been working on this so you probably won't like hearing it. But I thought it could have used a little more punch on the word "Angel." That same note throughout the song just seemed a little light to me. Well, at least imo. :) But overall it sounded pretty good to me.

Yeah, that note is a tough one - I still want to flip when I pound it. Its one of THOSE notes lol. Not singing for a month hasn't helped either. Fortunatly, I am back to being able to practice. Thanks for listening and commenting!

Kamelot is a quite bitchy material to sing isnt it, that guy is awesome... Dunno man it really not good yet, you know that too, I do like how you are sounding much more solid on the low/mid sections since that Silent Lucidity you´ve recorded, but its still missing compression as you go higher, the section Tommy pointed is where it shows most, its breaking there.

Technically your voice is more forward and defined than recordings prior to this, haha I recall that you said in a thread somewhere that a doctor told you you could not resonate? So much for that I guess. ;)

Oh, on the first verses, sounding nice, but try to let the dynamics fall more, will sound better on the context (your voice is alone in there), and it will leave a margin to increase it later, might even help with the compression.